Atopic dermatitis

Epidemiology

AD is the most common dermatosis affecting children: 65% of the patients are less than a year old and 85% are below 5 years. The prevalence of this pathology is constantly on the rise and currently affects 10 to 25% of the population. This increase is related to the lifestyle in industrialized countries, where 20% of the children suffer from this dermatosis.

Clinical signs of atopic dermatitis

The symptoms of AD mainly appear on the skin. Pruritus, an intense itching resulting from xerosis (skin dryness) and histamine release, is the main symptom of this pathology [Ref: MAST-0001; BLOO-0008]. Following this itching, excoriations appear on the skin and form lichenification patches (skin thickening). These skin lesions are accompanied by the formation of oozing scabs as well as erythema and papules. Moreover, in contrast with psoriasis, cutaneous keratinocytes in AD patients express few antimicrobial defense molecules (β-defensin) [Ref: NHEK-0035; NHEK-0037]. This explains why this dermatosis often occurs with complications, among which the most common are bacterial or viral superinfections. For example, Staphylococcus aureus, which is often found in skin superinfections5 [Ref: EPIBA-0060], exacerbates skin inflammation by secreting toxins and may cause impetigo.

Atopic dermatitis: physiopathology

The cause of AD is often linked to an epidermal barrier dysfunction, generally due to a mutation in the filaggrin gene. This structural anomaly facilitates skin lesions and leads to increased skin permeability, promoting the entry of antigens. Barrier dysfunction and antigen entry are at the root of the sensitization stage of AD. It is in a second stage, called the effector stage, that the appearance of pathological symptoms is noticed. This stage may be divided into several steps: initiation, activation of dendritic cells, polarization of Th2/Th22 lymphocytes as well as activation of other agents of AD (mast cells, etc.) and finally, an inflammatory loop between the keratinocyte and the infiltrating cells, leading to pathological skin.

pf

Check out Bioalternatives’ updates and experience new testing ideas

  • New assays, models and services
  • Posts and publications
  • Events

Dermatite atopique, généralités

Epidémiologie

La dermatite atopique constitue la dermatose la plus fréquente chez les enfants : 65% des patients ont moins d’un an et 85% sont âgés de moins 5 ans. La prévalence de cette pathologie est en constante augmentation atteignant aujourd’hui 10 à 25% de la population. Cette augmentation est liée au mode de vie dans les pays industrialisés, dans lesquels 20% des enfants souffrent de cette dermatose.

Signes cliniques de la dermatite atopique

Les symptômes de la dermatite atopique se manifestent principalement au niveau cutané. Le prurit, démangeaison intense résultant d’une xérose (sécheresse cutanée) et d’une libération d’histamine, est le symptôme majeur de cette pathologie [Tests: MAST-0001; BLOO-0008]. Suite à ces démangeaisons, des excoriations apparaissent et constituent alors des plaques de lichénification (épaississement de la peau). Ces manifestations lésionnelles s’accompagnent de la formation de croutes suintantes et également d’érythèmes et de papules. De plus, dans la dermatite atopique les kératinocytes expriment peu de molécules de défense antimicrobienne au niveau de la peau (β-défensine) contrairement au psoriasis [Tests: NHEK-0035; NHEK-0037]. Cela explique que cette dermatose est souvent accompagnée de complications, les plus communes étant des surinfections bactériennes ou virales [Test: EPIBA-0060]. Par exemple, Staphylococcus aureus, souvent retrouvé dans les surinfections cutanées exacerbe l’inflammation cutanée par la sécrétion de toxines, et peut engendrer l’apparition d’impétigo.

Dermatite atopique : physiopathologie

L’origine de la dermatite atopique est souvent liée à un défaut de la barrière cutanée, généralement dû à une mutation du gène de la filaggrine. Cette  anomalie de structure facilite les lésions cutanées, occasionnant la rupture de la membrane des kératinocytes, et engendre une perméabilité accrue de l’épiderme, favorisant l’entrée d’antigène. Ces deux causes sont à l’origine de la phase de sensibilisation de la dermatite atopique. C’est durant une seconde phase dite effectrice que l’apparition des symptômes de la pathologie est constatée. Cette phase peut être décomposée en plusieurs  étapes : l’initiation, l’activation des cellules dendritiques, la polarisation des lymphocytes Th2/Th22 ainsi que l’activation des autres acteurs de la dermatite atopique (mastocytes…) et, in fine, l’installation d’une boucle inflammatoire entre le kératinocyte et ces cellules infiltrantes, conduisant à une peau pathologique.

pf

Faites le plein d‘expériences en suivant toute l’actualité de Bioalternatives

  • Nouveaux tests, modèles et services
  • Articles et publications
  • Evènements

Related Posts or publications

Keratinocytes under fire of proinflammatory cytokines: Bonafide innate immune cells involved in the physiopathology of chronic atopic dermatitis and p... Specific cytokine environment deregulation plays a central role on skin morphology and innate immunity, moving towards specific pathologies and opening the way to new therapeutic strategies.
Dermatite atopique, phase d’initiation et d’activation Les lésions cutanées permettent le passage facilité d’un antigène auquel l’individu aura été préalablement sensibilisé.
Dermatite atopique, réponse immune et lésions cutanées Réponse immunitaire Th2/Th22 et autres acteurs de la dermatite atopique Après polarisation , les lymphocytes T Th2 et Th22 migrent vers la zone lésionnelle où ils libèrent respectivement des cytokines de type Th2 (IL-4, IL-5, IL-13, IL-31, TNF-α) et...
Keratinocytes as targets for cytokines in skin inflammation Current knowledge about the effects of different cytokine families on keratinocytes, and more particularly theirinvolvement in skin inflammation and in the development of inflammatory skin diseases such as psoriasis